Return to Headlines

Superintendent's Update - January 8, 2021

Dear Monomoy families,

While our students were unexpectedly learning remotely for the first week back after the holiday break, all reports are that this episode of full distance learning has gone very smoothly. It may not be ideal, but it’s clear we have all adapted and grown since last spring, and are able to pivot quickly and effectively to remote learning as needed.

There has been no evidence of school spread of COVID at Monomoy and the recommendation from our public health officials is to see students return to in-person learning. We will be returning to in-person instruction beginning next Tuesday, January 12, in grades PreK-7 and will make a determination about the high school on Monday. The parent/caregiver reports to our nursing team and the input and data from public health departments finds that we have the following known active COVID cases:

Chatham Elementary = 2 cases
Harwich Elementary = 1 case
Monomoy Middle School = 3 cases
Monomoy High School = 7 cases

The number of cases is up appreciably since before the holiday break, and we will no longer be sending announcements for each positive case that we are notified of; rather we will be sharing that information in aggregate on the district website. Individuals who are determined to be close contacts will be contacted directly by school nurses and/or the towns’ contract tracers.

The number of active high school cases is concerning. Public health officials estimate that the actual number of cases could be even higher due a backlog in testing, reporting, and tracing. We also know that there are many high school students awaiting test results after attending ill-advised teen gatherings around New Year’s.

The spread that has been taking place in our school community happens at the household level, often with many individuals in one household coming down with COVID. The virus has been spreading between households through sleep-overs, get-togethers, and playdates. The only way for our school community to significantly stop the spread is for parents (and kids) to curtail these means of transmission between households for the time being.

The end of this pandemic is in sight. The vaccine is starting to get distributed, and we all need to do our part to stop the spread over the next couple of months.

Even though we don’t return to in-person learning until Tuesday of next week, please contact the school nurse if your child or anyone in your household is sick or awaiting COVID test results. Please do not send your child to school if they are sick, if anyone in the household is positive or sick, or if anyone in the household is awaiting COVID test results. If you have traveled out of state recently, please abide by the state’s Travel Order, which mandates a 10-day quarantine or evidence of a negative PCR test before the student returns to school.

Please reach out to your school nurse with any questions or concerns. 

Take care of yourself and others.

Dr. Scott Carpenter, Superintendent
Monomoy Regional School District

MRSD School Nurses:
Chatham Elementary School: Jaime Staniels, jstaniels@monomoy.edu, (508) 945-5135
Harwich Elementary School: Holly Tavano, htavano@monomoy.edu, and Christine Mulhall, cmulhall@monomoy.edu, (508) 430-7216
Monomoy Regional Middle School: Carol Fiocco, cfiocco@monomoy.edu, and Amy Sullivan, asullivan@monomoy.edu, (508) 945-5140
Monomoy Regional High School: Cheryl Dufault, cdufault@monomoy.edu, and Sara Sears, ssears@monomoy.edu, (508) 815-5856