Return to Headlines

Remote learning Jan. 5-11, 2021

Dear Monomoy families and staff,

Happy New Year - here’s hoping for a much rosier 2021! Our nursing team and I have been working closely with our local public health officials to determine the current levels of community spread of COVID-19. The information gained through the survey we sent out earlier this week, in conjunction with the data from our public health departments, indicate a large increase in cases, likely due to holiday get-togethers, as well as many families and staff traveling over break. As New Year’s Eve was just a few days ago, we won’t see the ramifications of those get-togethers for at least a week. In addition, our local hospitals are reporting that they are near capacity, and in fact much more full than in spring 2020. 

Taking all of that into account, all Monomoy Schools will be operating remotely through January 11, with an expected return to in-person school on January 12. Each school principal will be in touch with specifics about distance learning and any necessary material pick-ups. This also means that there will be no sports or extracurricular activities during this time. On Monday, January 4, there will be no school for all students across grade-levels, while we distribute chromebooks and other materials needed for the next week of remote learning. Distance learning will begin January 5. 

The next few weeks are critical for us to stop this surge of COVID. All of us play a role in stemming the tide - we all need to refrain from indoor socializing with people not in our household, continue to wear our masks anytime we are not in our homes and around others, stay home and isolate ourselves if we are ill, and pursue testing if we are ill or a close contact of someone who tested positive (click here for information on testing). The more strictly we can follow the guidelines now, the sooner we can hopefully get back to some semblance of normal.

Keep an eye out for communication from your building principal with specific instructions about distance learning from January 5-11, and contact your school nurse with any COVID questions. 

Take care and stay safe.

Dr. Scott Carpenter, Superintendent

Monomoy Regional School District

 

MRSD School Nurses:

Chatham Elementary School: Jaime Staniels, jstaniels@monomoy.edu, (508) 945-5135

Harwich Elementary School: Holly Tavano, htavano@monomoy.edu, and Christine Mulhall, cmulhall@monomoy.edu, (508) 430-7216

Monomoy Regional Middle School: Carol Fiocco, cfiocco@monomoy.edu, and Amy Sullivan, asullivan@monomoy.edu, (508) 945-5140

Monomoy Regional High School: Cheryl Dufault, cdufault@monomoy.edu, and Sara Sears, ssears@monomoy.edu, (508) 815-5856