Return to Headlines

Monomoy Regional High School celebrates the Class of 2021 at graduation ceremony

June 7, 2021 -- In what seemed like a return to normalcy after more than a year of life in a pandemic, Monomoy Regional High School held an outdoor graduation ceremony for the 115 students in the 2021 graduating class. Recent updates in guidance from the Governor meant that families and friends could be in attendance to help honor these students. 


The MRHS graduation ceremony for the Class of 2021 was held Sunday, June 6, 2021, at 6 p.m. on the school’s athletic field. In accordance with town officials and state and local public health guidelines, unvaccinated attendees were asked to wear masks, and families were seated in distanced pods. 


Prior to the start of the graduation ceremony, students in the MRHS Class of 2021 participated in a vehicle processional, traveling from Chatham to Harwich and ending at Monomoy Regional High School, cheered on along the way by family, friends, and community members, and led by Harwich Police and Fire and Chatham Police and Fire departments.


During the graduation ceremony, scholarship awards were also announced. Thanks to the support of a number of local businesses and organizations, Monomoy students were awarded more than $328,000 in scholarship funds. 


Following a moving rendition of The Star-Spangled Banner by senior class members of the MRHS Select Choir and welcoming remarks from Class President Joseph Gonnella and Principal Jennifer Police, students heard pre-recorded addresses from Superintendent Dr. Scott Carpenter, School Committee Chairperson Tina Games, and Valedictorian Amy Hinesley. 


Each year, the senior class honors teachers who have made an impact on them with Reflection Awards. This years honorees, and the students who presented the awards, were: CES - Joseph Webster, Colby Jones; HES - Kimberlee Piknick, Joseph Gonnella; MRMS - Pamela Reuss, Aliza Pillsbury; MRHS - Mary Hemeon, Colby Jones; MRHS - Erin Hofmann, Miles Boyle. 


The Ad Lucem awards honor members of the school community that best exemplify the spirit and culture of Monomoy Regional High School. Ad Lucem is Latin for “To the Light” and represents the ideals of service to others, integrity, respect, leadership and school spirit.  The two student winners were seniors Andrew Davock and Maggie Dever. The support staff winner was Gibson St. John, Special Education instructional assistant. The faculty award winner was Physics and Astronomy teacher Dr. James Otto. The parent award was presented to Jill Notaro for her contribution to Visual and Performing Arts in our school community. The sixth annual Ad Lucem Award presentation is the culmination of a very competitive nomination and selection process that includes voting by members of the school community from both students and staff.


The Brooks Medal, which was established in 1887 and honors students who are “most proficient in composition and letter writing, and most excellent of behavior,” was awarded to Jessica Brown.


The Principal’s Pride Award was presented to Marc Chery, students attending military academies and entering military service were honored, and the Scholar Athletes were Leah Nash and Aidan Melton.


Global Studies Diplomas were awarded to Lily Daniels-Diehl, Josephine Ganshaw, Amy Hinesley, Kate Megnia, Aliza Pillsbury, and Jasmine Silva.


The Salutatorian Address was given by Aidan Melton, followed by the Student Address from Aliza Pillsbury, Class Secretary, and Class President Joseph Gonnella shared heartfelt and humorous remarks. The seniors members of the Select Choir performed “Imagine” by John Lennon to lead into the presentation of the diplomas. 


Congratulations to the Monomoy Regional High School Class of 2021!


Maxwell John Abboud

Sergi Bradley Alexis

Albieri Almonte

Elizabeth Bobbi Anderson^

Abigail Lee Andreasson

Sarah Madison Arestad

Owen Caswell Avellar

Nicole Evelyn Awalt^

Christie Lynn Baker

Damarr Nathaniel Beckford

Caitlin Helen Bouvier

Miles Richard Boyle●

Jessica Joan Brown^

Emma Jean Bryant

Nicholas Gregory Burns

Kristian Naomi Burt

Chloe Taylor Campeau

Justus Buju Canto

Yeraldin Castro

Stefanny Cava Sanchez

Benjamin Francis Chase

Marc Daniel Chery

Isabella Grace Cohrs

Joshua Joseph Coughlan

Trey William Cox

Alexis Rose Culver

Jack Michael Cusack

Lily Grace Daniels-Diehl^><

Andrew Kenneth Davock^

Ryan Patrick Dennehy

Sean Casey Deveau

Maggie Shaye Dever^

Samantha Rose Dunford

Michaela Ann Eldredge

James Marshall Fernandes

Madeleine Frances Flaherty+

Rabecca Lynn Fontaine

Kylie Jordan Francis*

Elena Jane Fritsch

Josephine Rose Marian Ganshaw^*+><

Amelia Collins Garrity

Denis Manuel Germosen

Joseph Peter Gonnella●

Marissa Frances Therese Greiner

Dylan Joseph Hall+

Max Edward Hall

William Christopher Harrison

Teleesia Shekinah Haughton

Olivia Rose Hayden^

Haylee Rose Hempel

Samuel John Higgins^

Amy Catherine Hinesley^><=

Jane Ellen Howard^

Cara Evannah Jolibois

Colby Christopher Jones+●

Jordan Scott Jones

Oshan DoroJac Jones

Riley Amber Jones*

Asa Christian Kline

Ryan Andrew Lane

Jack Pierre Lavallee

Quynh Thi Diem Le*

Marcus Fernando Lefeged

N'Gosi Lind-Raffaele

Matthew Paul Lucey^

Richard John Mahoney

Tanice Kadine McDonald

Madison Kimbley McDonough

Michael Patrick McKeen

Kate Elizabeth Megnia^><

Dylan Falch Meincke

Aidan Alexander Melton^

Liza Michel

Megan Faith Montiero^

Lauren Elizabeth Morris^

Samantha Joy Morse^

Leah Caroline Nash^

Marc Christopher Nichols

Brienna Joan Notaro^*+

Brandon Allan Nunes

Graham Stephen Papenfuhs

Kimberley Anne Parker^

Sydney Rae Parker^

Mackenzie Rose Pelosi

Halladay Rose Perry^*

Amy Marie Peterson^

Aliza Brianna Pillsbury^●><

Tyler William Potter

Duncan Christopher Ramler

Masen Thomas Reese

Ryder Nathaniel Robbins^

Sharon Rodriguez

Ben Allen Rounseville+

Edward Anthony Santana

Ryan Alexander Schepman+

Quinn Malcolm Schuyler

Samantha Asha Sequin

Isadora Silva Cursino

Jasmine Athena Silva^><

Matthew Robert Smeltzer

Julia Renee Smith

Justin Christopher Sneed

Charles Martin Southworth^

Brianna Danielle Spence

Cameron Sullie Spooner

Jonah Phoenix Tambolleo

Alexander John Tosi

Brynn Isabella Van Essendelft

Leilani Skye Viera

Samuel Robert Weinstein

Maxwell William Whelan

Nathan Bryant Whitfield

Jaiden Chrystian Wiles

Devinne Toni-Ann Wilson

Syla Starr Angela Ziemba


^ National Honor Society * National Art Honor Society + National Chinese Honor Society

  • Class Officer  Student Council >< Global Studies Program

= School Committee Student Representative